I don’t know how it happened, but my church suddenly got cool.

I just got an email from the secretary at church. She has let me know about a gig that’s happening in our hall next Thursday.

Repeat: a gigwith actual musicians.

I hadn’t heard of Luke Webb and the Drifters before the email, but have just had a listen to the samples on Luke’s myspace page. It’s nice: laid back country without being mopey and boring and cheesily twangy, classy instrumentation, played by people who can play. Matt sings like Neil Young. I like ‘Honey all I do is try’.

It appears that their album launch is in the hall at Springwood Presbyterian Church.

Man… what’s going on?

D.

PS if you’re interested in coming, here’s the flyer.

Leave a Reply

