My Easter Show Bag has Arrived.

Proverbs 14:31. “Whoever oppresses a poor man insults his Maker, but he who is generous to the needy honors him.”

Very few students at Bible college are genuinely poor, and in need of food. On the other hand, very few can afford to build a good library, though they are about to need one. There is an anonymous group of people who give candidates in the Presbyterian Church of NSW the ‘Geneva Bursary’. That is, $1000 to spend at Reformers’ Bookshop, in order to build up a library which will serve a life of preaching.

Last year I focussed on dictionaries and commentaries (those are pricey, like $80 and over kind of pricey). This year I aimed at maximising my bang for buck, by buying more books which come in at about $20 or $30 dollars each. In the end, I got 40 books which will serve me very well.

Thank you Geneva Bursary!

A gift from my anonymous benefactors.

I might never know who makes these serious donations to my friends and me, but I am really thankful for your generosity, so thank you.

9 responses to “My Easter Show Bag has Arrived.

  1. Daniel McClintock

    btw, my total bill came in at $999 exactly, and the book that is missing from the picture is Death By Love, by Driscoll and Breshears.

  2. My girls loved the Beginner’s Bible, Dan. That’s a great choice for you little one πŸ™‚

    I’m reading 365 with Calvin, too. Are you finding it helpful?

    Happy Easter!

    • Daniel McClintock

      Hey Sheryl,

      Can’t say yet, only picked them up yesterday afternoon!

      Also, either you typo’d, or you’re calling me ‘little one’. Either way, it’s sweet πŸ™‚

      D.

  3. Andrew Woodyatt

    Hi Dan,

    I am pretty impressed that you managed to spend all your money in one day. I end up ordering things in and doing it bit by bit. But I completely agree with your statement – somebody is giving us $1000 to spend on good books and it is great to be a beneficiary of such wonderful generosity.

    Andrew W.

  4. Tell me what you think of The Urban Face of Mission – I’m pretty keen on checking it out.

    • Daniel McClintock

      Shouldn’t you be checking out, or writing, “The Country Face of Mission”? πŸ˜‰

      Sure mate, will do.

  5. yes, yes, typo! how embarrassment πŸ™‚

  6. What do you think of Trellis and the Vine?

    • Daniel McClintock

      Hey Fi,

      Evangelical Americans are really digging it (Dever et al). I’ve read the first chapter or so, and I think I can see why. I think it’s reflective of how discipleship and ministry has been thought of in Sydney for a while (thanks to Marshall, MTS etc).

      I think the plain old strategies that we think are normal might be really refreshing in a culture more influenced by a “Run the big shiny events and get the big happy crowd” model of ministry.

      Only one chapter in, but I think that’s going to be the appeal.

Leave a Reply

